Shahid Beheshti University


Shahid Beheshti, Shahid Beheshti University

Shahid Beheshti University was founded as the National University of Iran in 1959 by Ali Sheikholislam, the first private university in Iran. The university was planned to be devoted to graduate studies. At its opening, it consisted of two schools: Architecture and Urban Planning, and Banking and Economics, with 174 students. Soon the School of Literature and Foreign Languages began in downtown Tehran. The first graduate academic degree program was the Master's course in the School of Architecture, launched in 1961. In 1962, a new main campus was built in Evin, a suburb in the north of Tehran. Academic offerings expanded as facilities were added. The first PhD course was offered in the School of Economics in 1991. Under royal auspices, the university library began to acquire important collections in the field of Oriental studies and literary classics in French and German. During that period, the university library ranked in importance second in the country only to Aryamehr (later Sharif) University of Technology. In spring 2013, Power and Water University of Technology (PWUT) was merged into Shahid Beheshti University.

Faculties (Shahid Beheshti University)

  • Faculty of Electrical Engineering: Department of Telecommunication, Department of Electronics, Department of Power
  • Faculty of Computer Engineering and Science: Department of Software Engineering & Information, Department of Artificial Intelligence and Robotics, Department of Computer Architecture and Networks
  • Faculty of Mechanical Engineering and Energy
  • Faculty of Architecture & Urban Engineering: Department of Architecture: Department of Landscape Architecture, Department of Construction, Department of Design, Department of Reconstruction, Department of Urban Planning
  • Faculty of Business & Management: Department of Public Management, Department of Business Management, Department of Commercial Management, Department of Financial Management, Department of Industrial Management, Department of Entrepreneurial Management, Institute for Research
  • Faculty of Biological Sciences: Department of Biology, Department of Genetics, Department of Marine Biology, Department of Microbiology, Department of Plant Sciences, Department of Zoology
  • Faculty of Economics & Political Sciences: Department of Economics, Department of Political Sciences
  • Faculty of Energy Sciences & Modern Technologies: Department of Aeronautics, Department of Biotechnology, Department of Energy, Department of Nanotechnology, Department of Cellulose and Paper sciences
  • Faculty of Earth Sciences: Department of Geology, Department of Geography, Department of Geophysics
  • Faculty of Law: Department of Criminology & Criminal Law, Department of Intellectual Property, Department of International Trade Law, Department of Economic Law, Department of Environmental Law, Department of Human Rights, Department of International Law, Department of Private Law, Department of Public Law
  • Faculty of Literature & Human Sciences: Department of Linguistics and Literature, Department of Philosophy, Department of History, Department of Archaeology, Department of Sociology, Institute of Iranology
  • Faculty of Mathematical Sciences: Department of Mathematics, Department of Statistics, Department of Computer Sciences
  • Faculty of Nuclear Engineering: Department of Applied Radiation, Department of Fuel-Recycling, Department of Radiology (Medical Radiation)
  • Faculty of Physical Education & Sport Sciences
  • Faculty of Psychology and Education: Department of Psychology, Department of Behavioral Studies & Advising, Department of Educational Sciences
  • Faculty of Sciences: Department of Chemistry, Department of Physics
  • Faculty of Civil &Water & Environmental Engineering: Department of Water Resources Engineering, Department of Water and Wastewater Engineering, Department of Structural and Geotechnical Engineering, Department of Environmental Engineering

Research Centers (Shahid Beheshti University)

  • Institute for Cognitive and Brain Sciences
  • Automated Software Engineering Research Group
  • Center for Environmental Research
  • Center for Cyberspace Research
    • Secure Communication and Cryptography
    • Content transfer technology
  • Center for Family Research
  • Center for Medicinal Plant and Drug Research Institute
    • Phytochemistry
  • Center for Laser & Plasma Research
    • Fiber optics
    • LIBS (Laser Induced Breakdown Spectroscopy)
    • Magneto-optics
    • Non-destructive Testing
    • Polymers and Organic Materials Photonics headed by Dr. Mohajerani
  • Center for Pharmaceutical Research

 Phone: +98 21 29902233
Activity Fields: 
Keywords:  Shahid Beheshti University, robotic company, cfp

Related Links: